A meme game

genetica.jpg

Blued Food’s ‘genetica’ on show at Quadrapop Tree until April 14th

Memes propagate themselves and can move through a “culture” in a manner similar to the behavior of a virus. As a unit of cultural evolution, a meme in some ways resembles a gene. Richard Dawkins, in his book, The Selfish Gene, recounts how and why he coined the term meme to describe how one might extend Darwinian principles to explain the spread of ideas and cultural phenomena. Wikipedia

Cyberloom was asked to participate in a meme game by Sofian, editor in chief of Second Life At Hand.

Book shelf

Book meme 5:5:5 + poem

My instructions
The meme to disseminate:

You take the fifth book (from the left or the right) on the fifth shelf (from top or from bottom) of your bookcase (if less than 5 shelves you go and buy a decent bookcase) and you find the fifth line of the fifth page from which you take the fifth word, that’s all.

In a second step you arrange the letters of this word vertically, so as each letter is the first letter of a verse, and you build a poem, an aphorism, whatever you like referring to Second Life.

Here is my first try with “The Usborne Book of World History” where I find at page 5 and line 5: “milk, wool and animals for carrying loads.”

The fifth word is “for” therefore my result is as follows:

Frightened of the griefers I often stay at home but sometimes
Overcoming my fear I dare to go shopping and buy
Ridiculous outfits that will stack in my inventory.

My contribution to this internet meme game of Web 2.0
The fifth book on my fifth shelf is ‘Eats, Shoots & Leaves’ by Lynne Truss. The fifth line on page 5 says: “Blair was stood” (instead of “standing”) we suck our…” Obviously not a complete sentence; however, it gives me ‘of’ to write as two lines of poetry… Well, I am not a poet and feel the need to camouflage my poor poetry by turning my lines into photo captions.

bat-costume.jpg

Orange bat clothes complete with wings, horns and hair

free-jet-pack1.jpg

Fashion victim yet again! (blushing synthetically while you stare!)

Now I am meant to identify five others to play this game but I will confess something here. You know all the chain emails that make their way around the internet? The ones that say pass this email on to ten other people and you will receive $10,000 in the mail? Or, pass on this message and something really good will happen to you in three days time if you send this email to 16 others… Well, I am the one who breaks the chain. Sorry about that.

The idea of the meme is fascinating all the same. I recommend a visit to The Daily Meme, an evolving internet meme archive, with an incredible range of memes squirreled away for rainy day reading. After discovering the Daily Meme I began delving further into Google search, and found a surprising array of web sites devoted to the meme and memetics. To learn more explore the following sites: fusionanomaly and Meme Central.

Postscript

Having made my modest meme donation I see that Second Life At Hand wrote on April 1st:

Alors voila, j’ai décidé que j’allais arrêter ce blog, le fermer définitivement, en plus ça tombe plutôt bien avec les nouvelles restrictions™ que je suis bien incapable de circonvenir ou de respecter, avec tous les Second Life et Linden Lab dont j’ai truffé mes articles, comme autant de mines anti-personnel prêtes à me sauter à la figure à la moindre occasion…

Adieu monde cruel, tu ne me manqueras pas, j’ai ma pelouse à tondre et mes rosiers à tailler…

Rose walk

Rose portal to Real Life™

This is a reminder, that perhaps I ought to run through Cyberloom and put ™ next to every mention of Second Life™? (See New World Notes and nexeusfatale.com for an explanation.) Or maybe I will just go and prune roses too? I once read that Mark Twain disagreed with his publisher on how to use punctuation, and he placed hundreds of commas, colons, semi-colons and periods at the end of his text, with the advice ‘distribute as you see fit’. I can’t locate the source of that story or recall the precise wording; perhaps it is an urban myth? However, motivated by this tenuous memory, I have planted all my ™, © & ® at the end of this post. I also promise that these symbols are available for scattering throughout Cyberloom if strictly necessary… For now, I will nurture them here until they bloom and need a prune; if you know what I meme?

©®™ ™™™™™™™™™™™™™ ©®©®©™™™™™™™™™™™™™™®©

™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™

™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™™

rose trees

ooxxooxx

Pre-pruned roses in perpetual bloom available in world at: Heart Garden Centre

Leave a Reply

