Chasing windmills in the sky

PhotoHunt

Traveling through Sound Art created by Edo Autopoiesis. Location Harmonia

Second Life™ is a giant collaborative exercise where creative people make everything in the synthetic world. A great part of the magic is seeing all these different imaginative manifestations co-existing side by side. Lesser mortals, like myself, are tourists in Second Life; we travel around exploring, we are an audience that interacts with the creations around us. We are not passively sitting watching (as we would be in front of a television) instead we are moving through and are able to become part of the scene we see.

Sound Art

Listening to ‘Sound Art’ described by Edo Autopoiesis’ as ‘A sound installation resonating with Second Life wind’. Visit Edo’s (real name Edo Paulus) website to hear for yourself.

I may not be able to write computer scripts, design islands and houses but I can photograph what I find with my virtual camera. I can capture images of what I see in my computer monitor, and I can compose freely from what I see; and create my own visual relationship with the artificial space. I can’t do that when I watch a movie as my view of the scene is (by necessity) decided for me by the director. But in Second Life I feel I am photographing my imagination meshed in with the imagination of others around me.

Trickster avatar

Trickster avatar created by Max Hatfield swanning around Sound Art windmills.

I once spent weeks writing a paper about imagination and I got completely stuck trying to understand how I could see things in my mind’s eye. What was my mind’s eye? Where was it? How can I see images when I close my eyes? Where are those pictures lurking in my mind? It was not a productive line of thinking and I wrote some embarrassing rubbish for my paper! There is, I discovered a need to ‘walk upon the water’ sometimes. Don’t look too closely or you will sink, eyes up, look around and keep on going! Let imagination roll around, avoid constraining it with too much reason!

Trickster avatar and Sound Art

The Trickster again.

Second Life is shared imagination; it is a land where imaginative people share their far-fetched imaginations; and it is a random world of the possible, the improbable and the utterly impractical. The only difference between the virtual world and the real world, is that we know the virtual world is a metaphor.

2 thoughts on “Chasing windmills in the sky

  1. “You can’t think about thinking, without thinking about thinking about something” — Piaget

    😉

    …but I have to disagree with your last sentance… rather I would say…

    The only difference between the virtual world and the real world, is that we know the real world is real.

    San

  2. Thank you San.
    I have two quotes for you:

    Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a persistent one.

    -Albert Einstein

    And regarding thinking and imagination I thought you might like this one!

    You unlock this door with the key of imagination. Beyond it is another dimension – a dimension of sound, a dimension of sight, a dimension of mind. You’re moving into a land of both shadow and substance, of things and ideas. You’ve just crossed over into the Twilight Zone.

    -Rod Serling, introduction to the original “Twilight Zone”

Leave a Reply

