Avatars as celestial bodies (and debutantes)

Cyberloom in demo ballgown by Sacha\'s Designs standing in the ballroom of S.S. Galaxy.Cyberloom posing on board the S.S. Galaxy wearing a Sacha’s Designs (demo) ball gown .

I wonder whether an avatar qualifies as a virtual world in and of itself? That is, it need not be seen as just a vehicle for moving through virtual spaces, or as a communication device with social presence. (Though an avatar is certainly these things.)

A virtual world might be described as a space, or dimension, which:

  • applies a virtual representation that (apparently) complies with real life physical laws,
  • is a metaphor of the real world,
  • immerses us within a 3D imaginative experience,
  • shares a story/narrative of some nature with us.

Perhaps an avatar, our personal metaphor for ourselves, can be a virtual world too? But generally only one individual inhabits an avatar at a time, whereas populations inhabit virtual worlds. It might be fairer to say an avatar can be compared to a small celestial body? A tiny, virtual satellite moon that revolves around it’s larger host planet?

And now, here is proof that it is possible that once avatars lived in a virtual world that seamlessly meshed with the real world, albeit for a brief period of time! Take a look at The Last Debutantes on the BBC website.

Cyberloom in demo ballgown by Sacha\'s Designs standing in the ballroom of S.S. Galaxy.

Cyberloom modeling Sacha’s Designs’ (demo ) on board the S.S. Galaxy.

7 thoughts on “Avatars as celestial bodies (and debutantes)

  1. IMHO an avatar is only our imagination made “visible” to ourselves and to other people on a computer screen.

    An avatar is the “materialisation” of our fantasies that we previously kept deep into our mind, before the apparition of MMOPRG.

    The problem is that now a lot of people almost think that this “ghost” is really their true self.

    No, I’m just kidding you;)

  2. Well, I always wear demo ball gowns in my real life. Its a problem only when I ride my bicycle or go swimming. So I don’t see my avatar as a ghost of my imagination, it is more a reflection of myself (like a mirror).

    Now where did I leave my diamond ear rings?

  3. You gave me your diamond ear rings, you don’t remember it?

    Now I am wearing them in my other world, but of course not when fighting monsters, I don’t want to spoil them!

    Anyway I am not worried about your own mental health, I was referring to some other people;)

  4. If you Google ‘playfulness and mental health’ you will see they have a very positive relationship. Therefore the sillier you are, the healthier you will be. I compliment you dear Mannonelf by saying ‘you are very silly!’

    By the way, wearing diamond ear rings when fighting monsters is actually a good ‘bling’ (though no studies prove this as yet).

  5. I am wondering about those diamond ear rings again. When you said: ‘ Now I am wearing them in my other world, but of course not when fighting monsters, I don’t want to spoil them!’ Which are you referring to? The ear rings or the monsters?

Leave a Reply

