Opening an Isle of Wyrms…

Isle of Wyrms Cathedral
Isle of Wyrms Cathedral created by Daryth Kennedy

 I thought that the Isle of Wight in the UK had set up its own virtual replica when I saw avatars in Second Life™ wearing   ‘IOW’ tags. However, it turns out this is actually a reference to the Isle of Wyrms. I then heard that there was a cathedral there, and assumed the Isle of Wyrms to be one of the many religious locations found in Second Life. (Anyone interested in learning more about religious sites in Second Life will find Danni Ohara provides an excellent introduction as guest blogger on Gany’s take on any life.) Last week I finally teleported over to take a look for myself and discovered that the Isle of Wyrms is an entire island devoted to dragons! The cathedral itself houses a range of splendid dragon eggs, and this begs the question… is this the site of a dragon cult? Nothing for it but to go undercover as a dragon investigator! 

Isle of Wyrms Cathedral
Isle of Wyrms Cathedral (entrance)
Isle of Wyrms Cathedral in rain cloud
Isle of Wyrms Cathedral in rain cloud

2 thoughts on “Opening an Isle of Wyrms…

  1. I think Daryth Kennedy would be a tad upset that someone thought it might be a cult. It’s a wonderful, welcoming community. We have lots of fun and the Mayor, Mom Jarman makes great cookies for us! 🙂 It’s top of my list of favourite places in SL. (29th March 2009)

  2. Dear Bryony, I promise I did not mean to seriously imply the Isle of Wyrms is a dragon cult! This was only meant as a little fun. I will send Mom Jarman a giant bag of chocolate chips to help her with her baking. And, for good measure (and hopefully truly make amends) I will polish the wings of all steam dragons who might be feeling a tad tarnished.

Leave a Reply

