Bloggers come whiffling through the tulgey wood

Wandering across blogs is like whiffling through ideas and sharing in conversations that rustle the leaves of the Tulgey Wood of words. (Apologies to Lewis Carroll & the Jabberwocky.)

One of the many unexpected delights of virtual world travel is the community of bloggers who have grown around these imaginative online spaces. Nowadays, I spend as much time reading blogs about Second Life as I do actually going into the 3D world. I visit SL far less than I used to, but the time I spend when I am there is more focussed than it was in the past. Bloggers guide me to the best places to visit and in turn I guide them with my blog. Today I had the delightful surprise of seeing that one of my favorite bloggers, Honour McMillan had posted about a visit to a location I had recently blogged about, the Arcipelagus by Aria Baroque. What charms me so much about Honour’s blogpost, and in-world trip, is the fact that I have just visited China, a location Honour recommended. I had never been to Second Life China created by aston Leisen until Honor intrigued me with her post and photographs. It is a marvelous place and I thought it must be very new yet it turns out it has been in Second Life for many virtual moons.

Without Honor’s blog I would never have found SL-China (which strikes me as being way ahead of its time) with its fluid artistic sweep. It is striking in its use of the two dimensional medium of ink and paper to create a 3D experience, as opposed to the more studied (less spontaneous) more architectural approach we usually see. I often describe Second Life as being like a painting I can walk into, well aston Leisen has created that experience with the simple use of ink washes on transparent layers. You almost expect your avatar to emerge from the bamboo groves of SL-China with shoes saturated in runny black ink.

Snowy landscape in China created by aston Leisen
Snowy landscape in China created by aston Leisen
Hut - aston Leisen. China. Second Life
Hut - aston Leisen. China. Second Life
Comfy armchair in the bamboo grove -aston Leisen. China. Second Life
Comfy armchair in the bamboo grove - aston Leisen. China. Second Life
Birds flying across the landscape
Birds flying across the landscape
Wind in the bamboo
Wind in the bamboo
Looking down at aston Leisen's China in Second Life
Looking down at aston Leisen's China in Second Life

Leave a Reply

